Louisiana.gov > DPS > Louisiana State Police > Sections of LSP > Concealed Handgun Permit Unit Text Size
 
Click here to visit the LSP 75th Anniversary Page
Contact Information Download Adobe Reader

Some documents on this page are in PDF format. Click here to download the free Adobe Reader.

Get Adobe Reader


Concealed Handgun Permit Unit


 Legislative News
 Laws and Administrative Rules
 How To Apply
 Fees
 Training
 Instructors
 Forms
 Prohibited Locations
 Duties of Permittees
 Reciprocity
 Links
 Frequently Asked Questions
 Contact Us
 


Legislative News

Act 4 of the First Extraordinary Session of the 1996 Legislature amended and re-enacted R.S. 40:1379.3 providing for the issuance of statewide concealed handgun permits by the Deputy Secretary of the Department of Public Safety & Corrections (DPS). The permit grants statewide authority to a citizen to carry a concealed handgun on his person. A handgun is defined as "a type of firearm commonly referred to as a pistol or revolver originally designed to be fired by the use of a single hand and which is designed to fire or is capable of firing fixed cartridge ammunition." It does not include "shotguns or rifles that have been altered by having their stocks or barrels cut or shortened."

2014

The passage of Act 147 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session amended and re-enacted R.S. 14:95.5 (C) relative to the possession of a firearm on the premises of an alcoholic beverage outlet.  This act provides an exception for persons possessing a firearm in accordance with a concealed handgun permit issued pursuant to R.S. 40:1379.1 or 1379.3 on the premises of an alcoholic beverage outlet which has been issued a Class A-Restaurant permit. (Effective August 1, 2014)

The passage of Act 195 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session enacts R.S. 14:95.10 relative to the carrying of a concealed weapon by a person convicted of Domestic Abuse Battery.  This act states that it is unlawful for any person who has been convicted of the crime of Domestic Abuse Battery, R.S. 14:35.3, to carry a concealed weapon.  This act shall not apply if 10 years have passed since the completion of the sentence for domestic abuse battery or from probation, parole, or suspension of sentence. (Effective August 1, 2014)

The passage of Act 221 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature amends La. R.S. 40:1379.3 to require the Department of Public Safety to conduct a check on every Concealed Handgun Permit applicant through the National Instant Background Check System (NICS) of the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  As stated in the ACT, approval from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms must be obtained before the permit may be used in lieu of the NICS check. (Effective upon approval from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms)

  • Upon Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms approval, the possession of a current and valid 5-year Concealed Handgun Permit shall constitute sufficient evidence of the background check required pursuant to 18 U.S.C. 922(t) for the purchase of a firearm.  However, possession of a Concealed Handgun Permit that has a Lifetime designation shall not constitute sufficient evidence of the background check pursuant to 18 U.S.C. 922(t).
  • The Concealed Handgun Permit Unit will make an announcement identifying the date a permit may be used in lieu of a NICS check.

The passage of Act 614 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session provides for reduced fees for active duty members, reserve members, and veterans of the armed forces of the United States. This Act enables an active duty member, reserve member, or veteran of the armed forces of the United States to pay one half of the regular fee provided for in LAC 55:I:1307(B)(15).  Act 614 applies to the five-year and lifetime permits.  (Effective July 4, 2014)

2013

The passage of Act 84 of the 2013 Regular Legislative Session allows for the issuance of a lifetime concealed handgun permit. We began issuing lifetime permits on August 1, 2013. The application has been updated to reflect this new option.

The passage of Act 398 of the 2013 Regular Legislative Session ceases requirements for the registration of firearms as defined in LRS 40:1781. Effective August 1, 2013, the Concealed Handgun Permit Unit will no longer accept applications to register or transfer firearms. However, this does not affect any requirement of federal law to register those weapons with the United States Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.


Laws and Administrative Rules

The electronic version of the Laws and Rule Booklet has been updated to include the changes in the 2008 Regular Legislative Session. Printing of updated booklets will not be conducted until the Louisiana Administrative Code is amended in accordance with the changes in statute.

NEW Law and Rule Booklet


How To Apply

Due to the large volume of applications that the section has received this year, processing time has been increased to 120 business days for original first-time applications and 90 days for renewal applications.

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE, and must be paid by money order, cashier's check, or certified check.

In an effort to allow the most efficient processing of your application, we suggest that you review the following tips for both new and renewal applications:

  1. Review your application for completeness. An incomplete application may result in the delay or denial of your application.
  2. Make sure all questions are answered correctly, specifically the questions with regard to arrests, medical conditions, and 18 USC 922 g. (See selected statutes in the Law and Rule Booklet.)
    1. Read the arrest question carefully, as you must list all arrests, summons, and citations (except speeding citations) even if listed on a previous application. You must provide a certified true copy of all arrest dispositions with your application.
    2. If you listed a medical condition you must have the treating physician complete the medical summary form before submitting your application.
    3. If you are currently subject to a protective or restraining order you must provide a certified true copy with your application.

Original/First-Time Applicants:

In order to apply for a concealed handgun permit, a citizen should follow the steps below:

  1. Apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit by one of the following ways:
    1. Complete and submit the new online Concealed Handgun Permit Application at http://chp-web.dps.louisiana.gov.
    2. Download a Concealed Handgun Permit Application and complete the instructions found on pages one and two of the application.
    3. Obtain an application at the State Police Headquarters (7919 Independence Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806) between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday.
  2. Provide all necessary documentation pertaining to training, arrest dispositions, medical summary dispositions, and divorce decrees (if applicable).
  3. Contact your local police office, local sheriff's department, or State Police Headquarters for fingerprinting. Fingerprinting at State Police Headquarters requires a $10.00 money order. Bring your photograph with you so the person fingerprinting you can sign and date the back of it. Prints must be submitted on an FBI Applicant Fingerprint Card. The card should be completed as outlined in the application instructions. Example
  4. Paper applications, fingerprint cards, and/or other documentation must be submitted to:
         Louisiana State Police
         Concealed Handgun Permit Unit
         PO Box 66375
         Baton Rouge, LA 70896

Renewals:

  1. Permit holders will be notified in writing at their address of record, approximately 120 days prior to the expiration of their permit to begin the renewal process.
  2. Upon notification, apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit by one of the following ways:
    1. Complete and submit the new online Concealed Handgun Permit Application at http://chp-web.dps.louisiana.gov.
    2. Download a Concealed Handgun Permit Application and complete the instructions found on pages one and two of the application.
    3. Obtain an application at the State Police Headquarters (7919 Independence Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806) between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday.
  3. Submit the renewal application with a new training certificate, a photocopy of your driver's license, and the appropriate fees. NOTE: Passport photos are no longer needed to process your applications. Submission of a fingerprint card is not needed for renewal applications.
  4. The completed application should be returned to the Department no less than 90 days prior to the expiration of the permit to allow sufficient time for processing.
  5. You must submit your application within 60 days after the expiration date or you will be required to submit a new original application including fingerprints.
  6. Paper applications and/or other documentation must be submitted to:
         Louisiana State Police
         Concealed Handgun Permit Unit
         PO Box 66375
         Baton Rouge, LA 70896
         ATTENTION: RENEWAL DEPT.


Fees

Five Year Permit (Original and Renewals):
Ages 21 - 64: $125
65 or Older: $62.50

Lifetime Permit:
Ages 21 - 64: $500
65 or Older $250

NOTE: If you have not continuously resided within the State of Louisiana for the 15 years immediately preceding the date on which your application is received, an additional $50 non-refundable fee shall be submitted. This is only for first-time applicants and is not required for any subsequent renewals.

Military Discount
If you have served in the Armed Forces of the United States, you must include a copy of your DD-214. If you are currently in the military and wish to use the military discount, you must include a copy of your most recent orders.

Five Year Permit: $62.50
Lifetime Permit: $250


Training

Original/First-Time Applicants:

In addition to meeting the qualifications in R.S. 40:1379.3(C), an applicant must demonstrate competence with a handgun by completion of an approved firearms safety or training course taught by an NRA or P.O.S.T. certified instructor that is registered with State Police, or completion of small arms training while serving in the military (as evidenced by a DD-214), [active service members, reservist and national guard members must include a clear photocopy of their military ID (front & back) with a copy of their last qualification record from their 201 file], or possession of a current valid license to carry a concealed weapon issued by a parish law enforcement officer.

Lifetime permit holders are required to complete refresher training every five years as required by LRS 40:1379.3.(V)(4).

Renewals:

Pursuant to LAC 55:I:1307.D, each permittee applying for a renewal of his permit shall complete additional educational training within one year prior to submitting a renewal application. To obtain renewal training, please contact one of the LSP registered instructors.


Instructors

Any training course or class offered for the purpose of certification to obtain a concealed handgun permit must be conducted by an NRA or P.O.S.T. certified instructor who has registered his name and certification with the Department. The Department does not regulate the fees charged by these instructors.

Instructor Requirements - Click here to view Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit Instructor Requirements

If you are interested in becoming an instructor, you must submit a completed instructor application, a detailed course syllabus, and certified true copies of your instructor certifications. Only Louisiana P.O.S.T. Firearm Instructor or National Rifle Association Basic Pistol, Personal Protection in the Home or Personal Protection Outside the home will be accepted. Please do not send cover letters, resumes, or any other material that is not required. This information must be submitted together or your application will not be processed.

Instructor List - These instructors have registered with the Concealed Handgun Permit Unit in accordance with the administrative rules and have authorized release of their names and phone numbers to applicants as of 10/01/2014.


Forms

  1. Concealed Handgun Permit Application
  2. Change of Address
  3. Instructor Information Form
  4. Medical Summary and Disposition
  5. Suspension/Revocation Affidavit DPSSP 4646 (Law Enforcement Use Only)


Prohibited Locations

R.S. 40:1379.3 (N) states that no concealed handgun may be carried into and no concealed handgun permit issued pursuant to this Section shall authorize or entitle a permittee to carry a concealed handgun in any of the following:

  • A law enforcement office, station, or building;
  • A detention facility, prison, or jail;
  • A courthouse or courtroom, provided that a judge may carry such a weapon in his own courtroom;
  • A polling place;
  • A meeting place of the governing authority of a political subdivision;
  • The state capitol building;
  • Any portion of an airport facility where the carrying of firearms is prohibited under federal law, except that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal, if the firearm is encased for shipment, for the purpose of checking such firearm as lawful baggage;
  • Any church, synagogue, mosque or similar place of worship; See RS 40:1379.3 (U)
  • A parade or demonstration for which a permit is issued by a governmental entity;
  • Any portion of the permitted area of an establishment that has been granted a Class A-General retail permit, as defined in Part II of Chapter 1 or Part II of Chapter 2 of Title 26 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises.
  • Any school "firearm free zone" as defined in R.S. 14:95.6.

The provisions of R.S. 40:1379.3 (N) shall not limit the right of a property owner, lessee, or other lawful custodian to prohibit or restrict access of those persons possessing a concealed handgun pursuant to a permit issued under this Section. No individual to whom a concealed handgun permit is issued may carry such concealed handgun into the private residence of another without first receiving the consent of that person.


Duties of Permittees

The permit shall be retained by the permittee who shall immediately produce it upon the request of any law enforcement officer. Anyone who fails to do so shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars. Additionally, when any peace officer approaches a permittee in an official manner or with an identified purpose, the permittee shall:

  1. Notify the officer that he has a weapon on his person;
  2. Submit to a pat down;
  3. Allow the officer to temporarily disarm him.

A permittee may not carry and conceal a handgun while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled dangerous substance (CDS) as defined in R.S. 40:961 and 964. For purposes of the concealed handgun law, a permittee is considered under the influence of alcohol when a blood alcohol reading of .05% or greater by weight of alcohol in the blood is obtained, or a blood or urine test shows any confirmed presence of a CDS.

The permit to carry a concealed handgun shall be revoked by the deputy secretary when the permittee is carrying and concealing a handgun under any of the following circumstances:

  1. The blood alcohol reading of the permittee is .05% or greater by weight of alcohol in the blood;
  2. The permittee's blood test or urine test shows the confirmed presence of a CDS as defined in R.S. 40:961 and 964;
  3. The permittee refuses to submit to a department certified chemical test when requested to do so by a law enforcement officer.

R.S. 40:1379.3(L) provides that anyone who carries and conceals a handgun in violation of any provision of this Section, unless authorized to do so by another provision of the law, shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars, or imprisoned for not more than six months, or both.

R.S. 40:1379.3(C)(1) requires the making of a sworn application to the deputy secretary of public safety services of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections. The providing of false or misleading information on the application or any documents submitted with the application shall be grounds for the denial or revocation of a concealed handgun permit. The application shall reflect training in pistols, revolvers, or both. Any permittee under this Section shall notify the department of any address or name change within thirty days of the change. Failure to timely notify the department of a name or address change may result in suspension of the permit for up to thirty days.

R.S. 40:1379.3(R)(1) requires each permittee, within fifteen days of a misdemeanor or a felony arrest, other than a minor traffic violation, in this state or any other state, shall notify the deputy secretary of public safety services by certified mail. The deputy secretary may suspend, for up to ninety days, the permit of any permittee who fails to meet the notification requirements of this Section.

R.S. 40:1379.3(F)(1) mandates that the deputy secretary shall revoke the permit if at any time during the permit period the permittee fails to satisfy any one of the qualification requirements provided for in Subsection C of R.S. 40:1379.3.


Reciprocity

Effective August 15, 2004, the concealed handgun laws were amended concerning reciprocity with other states. The statute provides as follows:

"...A current and valid concealed handgun permit issued by another state shall be deemed to be valid within this state if a current and valid concealed handgun permit issued by Louisiana is valid in those states." Louisiana law requires residents of the State of Louisiana to possess a Louisiana permit to carry a concealed weapon in this state. Louisiana law does not prohibit residents from obtaining permits from other states to carry in those states.

Pursuant to R.S. 40:1379.3(T)(1) a valid permit in another state is valid in Louisiana if the issuing state honors concealed handgun permits issued by Louisiana.

Permit holders are reminded that while carrying a concealed handgun in another state they are bound by that state's laws governing concealed carry and permittees from other reciprocal states are bound by Louisiana concealed carry laws while in Louisiana.



States that honor Louisiana permits AND whose permits are honored in Louisiana

State / Website Agreement Date Contact #
Alabama 08-15-2004 (334) 242-7300
Alaska 08-16-2004 (907) 269-0392
Arizona 08-18-2004 (800) 256-6280
Arkansas 07-31-2007 (501) 618-8600
Colorado 09-02-2004 (303) 239-5850
Florida 07-12-1999 (850) 488-5381
Georgia 09-30-2004 (404) 657-2203
Idaho 08-16-2004 (208) 884-7000
Indiana 09-30-2004 (317) 232-8200
Iowa 01-01-2011 (515) 725-6230
Kansas 01-22-2007 (785) 296-2215
Kentucky 08-16-1999 (502) 227-2221
Maine 06-25-2009 (800) 452-4664
Michigan 08-31-2004 (517) 332-2521
Minnesota 07-31-2004 (651) 793-2400
Mississippi 08-12-2004 (601) 987-1586
Missouri 08-16-2004 (573) 751-3321
Montana 08-24-2004 (406) 444-2026
Nebraska 08-30-2009 (402) 471-4545
Nevada 10-01-2007 (775) 684-6262
New Hampshire 08-16-2004 (603) 271-3575
North Carolina 08-16-2004 (919) 716-6500
North Dakota 02-26-2007 (701) 328-5500
Ohio 08-15-2011 (800) 282-0515
Oklahoma 08-18-2004 (800) 522-8017 Ext. 2519
Pennsylvania 12-12-2006 (717) 783-1111
South Carolina 02-15-2005 (803) 896-7014
South Dakota 02-15-2007 (605) 773-4102
Tennessee 12-18-1997 (615) 251-8590
Texas 08-12-1998 (512) 424-7293
Utah 08-16-2004 (801) 965-4445
Vermont 02-23-2007 (802) 244-8775
Virginia 10-22-2004 (804) 674-2000
Washington 08-13-2004 (206) 389-6800
West Virginia 11-17-2008 (800) 368-8808
Wisconsin 12-1-2011 (608) 266-1221
Wyoming 03-28-2002 (307) 777-4301

States that DO NOT honor Louisiana permits

State Date Notified Contact #
California 08-12-2004 (916) 227-0163
Hawaii 08-19-2004 (808) 586-1160
Illinois 08-23-2004 (800) 255-3323
Maryland 08-17-2004 (410) 799-0191
Massachusetts 08-18-2004 (617) 660-4600
New Jersey 08-26-2004 (609) 882-2000
New Mexico 12-14-2011 (505) 841-8053
New York 08-30-2004 (800) 770-0220
Oregon 10-01-2004 (503) 378-3070 ext.418
Rhode Island 08-23-2004 (401) 274-4400


Links

Office of the State Register
This is a searchable database of the Louisiana Administrative Code. These are the administrative rules governing the issuance, and regulation of concealed handgun permits. These rules are contained in the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 55, Part I, Chapter 13, Sections 1301 and 1317.

Louisiana State Legislature Search
This is a searchable database of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. The specific laws concerning concealed handgun permits are located in R.S. 40:1379.3 et seq.


Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions


Contact Us

Please direct any written correspondence, or submit applications to:
Louisiana State Police
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit
PO Box 66375
Baton Rouge, LA 70896

Concealed Handgun Permit Unit Phone Numbers:
(225) 925-4867
(225) 925-4868
(225) 922-0225 (Fax Number)

Office Personnel:
1. Sergeant Michelle King
2. Wyndie Chifici (Office Manager)

Concealed Handgun Permit Unit E-Mail Address: